The rules, understand?

When I begin to write, I attempt to create something that is flawless, distinct and substantial. I always find myself rearranging my words, searching for grammatical errors and trying to add meaning and weight to the work as if to hide some underlying hang-up. This is not always the case, but in a large portion of my writing I attempt these very futile things, as if in some clinging hope to please the writing gods so they will smile in my favor. Blasphemy!

The rule set by which my work is to be judged is certainly not known by most people (and for those who do, they are not paying much attention). Life changes, people change, as does language and writing. New forms of communication arise, vernacular goes through metamorphoses and consciousness evolves. With this in mind, I am dismissing the arbitrary, epistemological positions of scholars and educators in favor of a more honest, free-flowing method. I will no longer attempt “perfection”, as nothing I’ve ever written is perfect. My long and drawn out, yet very important segue ensues…

The idea of perfection is as conceivable to the average human mind is the idea of infinity, something to be strived for, but never attained. One can postulate forever on what either concept may be, but until reached in the mind, neither is fully realized. While thinking about how to introduce some of my ideas, I began to make some assumptions about other people. I wondered if they understood some of the words and concepts I had used, or if those fell deaf upon uneducated ears, as if preaching to the choir.

Let’s stop and examine that last paragraph for a moment. I wonder how many people reading know what I mean by that last sentence: “I wondered if they understood some of the words and concepts had I used, or if those fell deaf upon uneducated ears, as if preaching to the choir.”

‘Preaching to the choir’ is a phrase that means that a person is sending their message to others who already agree with their point-of-view instead of sending it to those who do not already agree or who have not heard the message. The ones who do not agree have more to gain from hearing the message and forming their own opinion than those who have already heard it or already share a similar opinion. (Although, it could be argued that a new form of the message heard by someone who already agrees with the principles of the message would be a strong reinforcement of their opinion and would assist in preventing attrition.)

Of course, that’s a fairly simple phrase that most people have undoubtedly heard. I’d like to look at one more of my sentences before we move on: “With this in mind, I am dismissing the arbitrary, epistemological positions of scholars and educators in favor of a more honest, free-flowing method.”

So, this one is a bit more challenging. There are two things to be picked up on here, vocabulary and comprehension. Someone who does not know the definition of “arbitrary” or “epistemological” may either look them up, fail to understand completely and move on (perhaps even not finish reading) or make the best interpretation that they can based on their current knowledge and the context in which I’ve used the words. The way the sentence is arranged and the words I used are saying in simpler terms: “I am going to write any way that I want from now on instead of following the standard rules of writing, because I think the rules are only relatively accurate, depending on who is reading the words.”

What we immediately notice is that the original sentence was short, therefore easier to read, contained more meaning and less confusion. Of course, this is only true if the person reading it has complete comprehension. Knowing this, I cannot continue to write in a way that only satisfies one type of mind. I will be attempting to show as much meaning in as little space as I can, but in a way that relates easily to most people. I will have to avoid perfection to be perfect, if you will. I will not, however, dumb this writing down so much that it is disgusting. There will be “big” words, mentions of people whose names you do not know and concepts which some people will need to look up themselves. I will do my best to be fully scoped, but I cannot write about philosophy and truth if I have to write about everything else, especially if I believe that all things are only relatively true anyway.

Now, onto that segue…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

